AFTER the Second World War, the “Opera Pia di Barolo”, an organisation set up by the last descendants of the Falletti family of Barolo, put the castle up for sale and it was purchased by the Italian Government, after being restored between 1950 and 1958 and added to the list of national monuments thanks to the then President of the Republic, Luigi Einaudi.
From the castle it is possible to admire a breathtaking view and the urban structure of the village, which recreates an ancient atmosphere hard to find elsewhere: the historic centre and concentric lanes built around the castle form two rings, which permitted the inhabitants to escape easily and seek REFUGE in the event of war.